Skip to content

Oscars 2010

March 7, 2010

I remember ditching school when I was young to see the live broadcast of the Oscars.

Memorable moments:

Billy Crystal‘s openings and monologues.  The year Al Pacino was nominated for “Scent of a Woman” Billy Crystal brought out a prop bin with a horse head.  Roberto Benigni jumping off his seat accepting his award for “La vita e Bella” from Sophia Loren. Eiko Ishioka winning for Best Costume Design for Francis Ford Coppola’s “Dracula“.

I was in awe.

Perhaps it’s because I was young and naive.  I saw the Academy Awards as a dream come true.  I thought I was going to end up in the Film Business and some day be at the Academy Awards.  Close enough, I’m in Home Entertainment (the business side and not the content production side) and enjoying every bit of it.  Who knows depending on what life has in store, it may still be a possibility.

I look forward to the show being produced by Adam Shankman.  I loved his production of “Hairspray”.  I’m also excited to see Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin host the show.

Tonight I’ll be watching the Academy Awards with friends.

I look forward to the evening.

No comments yet

Leave a comment