Skip to content

The Get Up Kids

March 5, 2004

I just happened to wander into Virgin Mega Store. I had ten bucks, a camera, WHY NOT? šŸ˜€


THE GET UP KIDS

I haven’t heard of these guys but I was thinking of Tams. Why not? Opportunista šŸ˜€ I checked the CD, cover seemed appealing (they had a bunch of old movie theater seats on the cover), titles turned me on (Martyr Me, Man of Conviction, In Your Sea, How Long Is Too Long). I listened to it briefly. They sounded like Greenday. I loved the rawness of it. These days you get all these albums that sound like they’ve been extremely modified. After hearing these guys, you have a feeling that they’ll be good live.

I was third to the last person who managed to get the band’s autograph and picture taken with them. As I was collecting my signed poster and CD, I looked at one of the members and said KEEP IT REAL. It was cinematic. He was in some sort of daze and then started to mutter those words to himself and then smiled. I smiled back and then walked away……..

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2004 11:54 pm

    you’re so HAPON!

    I don’t know them. I don’t like Punk but can I have that picture? gaya gaya ka kay Fernando! hahahaha

  2. March 6, 2004 8:26 am

    Kala mo pic lang

    Tams! I actually got you a signed poster also or if you want the CD na signed din. Today Rufus Wainwright is gonna be at the Apple Store at 4pm pero I work till 5pm so I might head over and we’ll see. I don’t think he’ll stay and sign autographs. Hmm, just in case I guess I’ll bring my I Am Sam soundtrack CD cover t work. Ano pang balita diyan sa Manila? Nga pala, puno na bag mo, me DVD pa ng School of Rock and I put everything in a Sports Illustrated duffel bag I got in the mail for free šŸ˜›

    • March 8, 2004 7:28 am

      Re: Kala mo pic lang

      Goodie Bag! Goodie Bag! YAYAYAYAYAYYY

      good night!

  3. March 10, 2004 5:12 am

    huwaw!

    i <3 the get up kids :D

    • March 10, 2004 7:38 am

      Re: huwaw!

      Yup, are you a fan? Have we met?

      • March 10, 2004 7:47 am

        Re: huwaw!

        i dont think so šŸ˜€
        just lj hopping

      • March 10, 2004 10:02 am

        Re: huwaw!

        Nice to meet you šŸ˜€ Saw your LJ, nice pics! The world is really small so I think we’re somehow connected in 6 degrees šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

