Skip to content

The Morning After the Oscars

March 1, 2004

It’s the day after the Oscars. I’m doing laundry (again). I have a busy day today. I’m off to meet up with Mark to work on his film. I’m excited about that. I have to do the regular errands, get stuff for the apartment, fags for my better half. I swear, one day he’ll turn into a freaking camel. Get watches fixed. It’s pretty dumb having the batteries replaced because the cost of the replacement and batteries is almost the cost of the watch. Then again the designs of the watches I have aren’t available anymore. So the switch is worth it.

ACADEMY AWARDS


11 Oscars

I’m pretty happy that Peter Jackson and The Lord of the Rings was finally recognized by the Academy. They should have a special award because the trilogy is just amazing and the dedication of all the people involved with the movie is indescribable.

Memorable Moments


“Ive always wanted you to be part of the family business”

As usual, Billy Crystal’s opening. Blake Edward’s entrance. Everyone who was a part of Lord of the Rings was who was present at the awards night was asked to go up on stage. Sofia Coppola on stage with her dad. I thought that was really cool and her whole family cheering when she won for best screenplay. I didn’t really care much for clothes or the jewelry. I just love seeing people in awe when they’re dreams come true.

Best Speeches
Charlize Theron – thanking her mom and South Africa
Blake Edwards – thanking everyone especially his foes for driving him to do better

CITY OF GOD



I thought it was weird that City of God was nominated for the other major categories but not for foreign language film. I’m still waiting for the DVD I ordered on ebay from Brazil to arrive. It’s taking forever. If I’m lucky maybe it’ll arrive today. They were supposed to release it last month but looks like distributors pulled out at the last minute. Something political perhaps?

I have been reading so much about the film. Perhaps it’s because it’s my dream to make something just as powerful. Fernando Meirrelles was intrigued by the book after he read it. But was initially intimidated to do the project because this was not his territory. As he put it in a BBC interview

http://filmthreat.com/Interviews.asp?Id=454

“I said no because I don’t know anything about drug dealers. I hate violent movies, but I began to read the book and I was shocked. I’m 44 years old and I didn’t know this is how things happen inside the slums and so I was very shocked. When I finished reading, I called Paulo Lins, the author, and decided to buy the rights to make the film even though I didn’t know how I was going to do that. The book is 600 pages, but you begin to work and you find your way. ”

I’ll eventually make my masterpiece. In the meantime, I just have to continue to face my demons, write and create.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2004 1:41 am

    Coff ano yung camera ni Rocket?

    • March 2, 2004 1:42 am

      I promise not to ask for one

      • March 2, 2004 7:21 am

        Camera ni Rocket

        Leica ata. You should have asked Ferdie when you met him. Funny siya ha, parang hapon sa awards, nagpeace sign when the camera was on him sa best director nominations.

        I saw Keka nga pala. Natuwa ako sa kanya. Galing for a neophyte. He has a lot of growing up to do pero marami siyang potential. Oks siya, it’s something fresh from the typical Pinoy flicks and tuwa ako sa sing and dance seen. Kitang kita pa ang frustrations niya. It really could have been a lot better pero mukhang nasakal siya ng Viva.

        Please remind Don Corleone to send the Magsaysay books back. I’m in the process of doing that screenplay. I talked to Neil Daza and we really want to do something like City of God about Manila. Exciting no! City of God na me halong The Hours.

        I’m also waiting for the DVD I ordered from Brazil MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

        Anong bago diyan?

Leave a Reply

